Book/Movie Announcement!

I was going to wait until Monday, but it looks like it's pretty much been decided.  The first book and movie we'll be reading for The Analogical Imagination is:

The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera

First sentence: The idea of eternal return is a mysterious one, and
Nietzsche has often perplexed other philosophers with it: to think that
everything recurs as we once experienced it, and that the recurrence
itself recurs ad infinitum!

This book follows the lives of four people with four different outlooks on life, and their search for meaning. If our lives only happen once, how can they
be meaningful? Isn't Nietzsche's idea of eternal return more
attractive? Or is the idea of being locked down doomed to repeat
actually more of a burden? The author plays with the images of
lightness and weight, and it often seems he flip flops on which is
preferable.
Is meaning out there for us to find, or do we construct it?


What Dreams May Come
directed by Vincent Ward

Robin Williams and Annabella Sciorra star in this visually stunning
metaphysical tale of life after death. Neurologist Chris and artist
Annie had the perfect life until they lost their children in an auto
accident; they're just starting to recover when Chris meets an untimely
death himself. He's met by a messenger named Albert (Cuba Gooding Jr.)
and taken to his own personal afterlife–a freshly drawn world
reminiscent of Annie's own artwork, still dripping and wet with paint.
Meanwhile a depressed Annie takes her own life, compelling Chris to
traverse heaven and hell to save Annie from an eternity of despair. 

–Shannon Gee

That's it folks!  Once I have a chance to watch the movie, I'll start a topic about it.  If I don't get to it soon enough for you, feel free to start a post of your own and add it to the group!

In two weeks we'll start in on discussing Unbearable Lightness, so you have two weeks to get ahold of it and start reading! 

Good luck, and enjoy!

PS: I'm also thinking of having an extra credit movie for people who move too quickly…but we'll see if we need it.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

  1. I'm really interested to see what others think of the movie. Of course, it's one of my most beloved and I've already ordered it from Netflix. I'm looking forward to seeing it again myself! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. This is one of my favorite movies, too. One of the few I own. I haven't watched it in a while so look forward to seeing it again, too.

  3. Got the book! I was actually quite surprised to find my little college library actually had it. Handy. =) Now all I need is to find the time to read it.

  4. Hmm, replying to myself smacks of schizophrenia. :pSeen the movie! Wherein shall I cast the first stone?

  5. And so it begins.. ๐Ÿ™‚ x

  6. Thanks for the invite! I've ordered the book through Amazon and it'll be here in a couple of days. I've already seen the movie, but will put it on the top of my Netflix list so I can see it again and refresh my memory.

  7. Kay, if you want, you can post about it and add it to the group. Just make sure that the post is only visible to you (draft) and then add it to the group. That will make it so it's only viewable to the group. Feel free to post whenever you want!I haven't had a chance to watch the movie yet…my local blockbuster didn't have it, so I'll have to check around. I should really look into Netflix. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Loved the movie, although it was banned here..lol!Managed to watch it on HBO…

  9. I've read The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera … I hope everyone enjoys it as much as I did.I always meant to see the move What Dreams May Come but for some reason I always put it off… I'm beginning to regret my decision now. ๐Ÿ™‚ Good luck everyone!

  10. I just joined Netflix, so I should be seeing the movie shortly. Remember, if you already saw it and want to post while things are fresh, feel free to post something about it and add it to the group!

  11. I got a message in my email that my Netflix moobies ๐Ÿ˜‰ will be here tomorrow. So once I watch it again, it's ok to post? I don't want to spoil it for anyone who hasn't gotten a chance to see it yet.

  12. That's what it says! I think people are smart enough to not read a post about a movie they haven't seen. ;)If you're really worried, just note at the top that it has spoilers.

  13. Great choices! The book is an old favorite. I'll have to unearth my copy to reread it. I know I have one somewhere.

  14. I recently went digging, too. Only to realize I'd let a friend borrow it for a class, and she forgot that I gave it to her and thought it was hers. She's also in the book club (vintagefury). But she's read it more recently than me, so I'm taking it back! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. I watched the movie on Friday, and I've got the discussion post up here. Talk away!

  16. I didn't know any other way to contact you, but I hope you get this. It was never my intention to make you feel like you weren't wanted, you totally are! I love the ideas you bring to the table, and I was actually hoping that you'd help me organize that idea for having a live chat! It was just one particular post that I didn't think fit, it was nothing against you. If I had known it would upset you, I would never have asked you to remove it! You're worth too much! Seriously, come back!

  17. How long more do we have to talk about this one before the next set of movie/book comes along? I've totally been meaning to knuckle down and read it, but the rest of life keeps getting in the way. =/ Annoying…

  18. Well it seems like no one is really talking about it, so I am assuming that people are still reading it…but if everyone wants to just move on, we can. If I don't get any responses for the next week, we'll start on the next book/movie then.

  19. Heya all.I am still reading :(I got myself a library fine for borrowing from another university and wasn't able to get a copy as quickly as I would have liked… grr. Oh well… never mind the fines… they're all gone now [they vanished :)] and I am reading busily. I hope to in fact get through what has so far been an interesting read by the end of this week, since I am once again going to be a student (while working… oh sheesh… I think I've lost my mind), I better!Hmm… and having a working computer would help for this distance education thingy (damn chooses a good time to pack it in!).Oh well, studies are heavy, and therefore might have a value worth their weight, though somehow I still have a perchant for being light, yet like the books title suggests, its unbearable, for nothing lasts forever, and what was thought light is discovered to be heavy.Hmm… its the small things that matter? Yet the big things sometimes weigh us down…. still reading…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

