Very Cool

I don't know anything about what they try to plug at the end, but this video is awesome.

http://www.perceivingreality.com/

Check it out.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

  1. That was very cool!! It's interesting that they call what is "outside" bestowal and that it is the polar opposite of the "inside" which wants to receive. But, if "it" wants to bestow, then it must likewise receive through us – in process.

  2. Just because something wants to bestow doesn't mean it hates receiving. ;)Just that the main characteristic is one of bestowal, whereas the human way tends to be one of receiving.

  3. Kabbalah is a "science?" Give me a break.

  4. Like I said, I don't know anything about Kabbalah. But the way that they explain our interactions with the outside world makes a lot of sense.

  5. It seems like another version of propping up some sort of religion or (in this case, Jewish mysticisms) with an appeal to philosophical skepticism and then saving our lonely decent into obscure nonsense with an appeal to religion. I wrote a quick article about it on my blog.

  6. Maybe it's because of what I've been reading lately, but I didn't see it the same way you did. I read your article and I understand your point. I don't think it's so much skepticism that this video rests on, although in a way yes. It's not saying we can't know anything. It's just acknowledging that the things we know, our ways of thinking of ourselves as seperate and isolated, are largely human convention. It's true that we cannot access the world objectively, but most wouldn't doubt than an objective world does in fact exist.I hesitate to bring this up because of all of the attachments to it that may not apply, but I will anyway, just for understanding's state. You've read Kant, right? Two worlds. World of experience, and the world independent of experience. You can't get directly at the world independent of experience because it, obviously, is not experience-able.But if we realize that much of our ways of thinking are human convention, then we can start to slowly shed the parts of it that make sense to shed, and more closely align ourselves with what is "out there."I'm not sure if that made any sense. 😉

  7. Objective reality equals altruism! How do they know? They are making claims contrary to their initial position that we are like a box. How does another (inner) sense overcome the limitations of the conventional five senses? They should remember that what one wants to believe does not make it true.Their claim that Kabalah thousands of years old is false and appeals to the idea that ancient knowledge is better than present day knowledge to give it validity. If ancient knowledge was so good why did the majority of people die young? When any ideology makes the "ancient knowledge" claim one needs to run in the opposite direction.

  8. True. But I always worry – just slightly (and sometimes a lot)- about any group who assigns personified terms to the "the ground of being". I do think we are in process with "it" in that we are insperable from "it" and are "it". And their film meshes with my personal experience so I dug it. But I'm not in need of convincing so I'm not the sort of person they are marketing to. I just think it is quite convenient from a marketing perspective to make the claim that some great unknown "wants to give". That's not to say I disagree with the message. But there is something about claiming to know what the "unknowable" wants that makes me uneasy and I have yet to put my finger on exactly what it is.

  9. I agree. I have trouble with the terms "objective reality" and "altruism" anyway. If we are stuck in the box, how can we possibly perceive reality objectively? It seems to me an impossibility even though it's worth shooting for. I think it is enough to know that there is experience beyond the box. But to claim to know what this experience is – especially by labeling it things from within the box – is problematic. But, can you prove that dying young isn't "good"? 🙂

  10. Sorry to be so late to this discussion. Don't know how I managed to overlook it. I'd just like to commend your attention to a work which, it seems to me, addresses many of the concerns discussed, written early in the twentieth century, entitled "Peter Pan". If you consult this work, pay special attention to "Never-Never Land" and the principle governing the continued existence of "TinkerBell".

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

