Voting Time!

Time to vote for the next book/movie!

I haven't heard back from anyone still reading Vonnegut, so I figured we'd start the voting for the next cycle.  It will probably take us a week to decide the next book/movie, so if there is anyone out there still reading, you still have some time. πŸ™‚

So here we go! If you're not part of the discussion group, now is the perfect time to join!

Here are my suggestions.  Feel free to either vote on these or suggest a completely different book or movie!

If we pick this book, I would suggest one or both of these movies, as I think they go really well together.

The Shrine at Altamira

John L’Heureux

Annie Dillard Reader, An

Annie Dillard

I'm not sure which movies would go well with Pilgrim at Tinker Creek and Holy the Firm (since we really have to read both, and they're both relatively short). So I'll just put a couple random ones I haven't seen.  Suggestions welcome.

So, there you go.  Remember, you don't have to stay within the lines.  Suggest your own if you want!  And feel free to click through the books/movies to see their descriptions.  If you have any questions, ask. πŸ™‚

Happy voting!

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

  1. Any chance of doing a combo of the Children of Men movie and novel? I've heard that the film diverges significantly from the book in some interesting ways.

  2. Okay, one vote for Children of Men + Children of Men. πŸ™‚

  3. I'm voting for Annie Dillard and Mulholland Drive. But that may be simply because I've seen Requiem in the past six months and I try to pace myself with the multiple viewings of that movie.I do like Jon's idea of Children of Men and Children of Men, though.

  4. I second Annie Dillard and Mulholland Drive.

  5. Annie Dillard is a fantastic writer although she's completely unknown in Japan. I've read "The Writing Life" in Japanese and English and it's the best book on writing I've read so far.Also Mulholland Drive rocks! (^o^)/

  6. Ack. I think you should avoid Children of Men like the plague. Well, I haven't read the book, but I thought the movie was worthless. Requiem for a Dream is about 100x better. Go for that of the two most definately.

  7. I thought the movie was both breathtaking and heartbreaking…often just what I like in a good movie. πŸ˜‰
    Can I assume that I should put you down for Shrine/Requiem?

  8. sure… tho I know nothing of Shrine.

  9. If Shrine is the book Kristen has said is her favorite, I'd be up for that, too. πŸ™‚

  10. It is. But it's pretty graphic. Definitely R-rated. Those uncomfortable with violence should be warned.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

