QotD: If I Had Guaranteed Success…

What would you attempt to do if you knew you could never fail? 
Submitted by BeckyPink

Quit my job, go back to school and study philosophy, religion, and in particular existentialism.  Open a martial arts school, and try to integrate all I've learned about Eastern and Western thought into the curriculum, so that the school is one that not only makes you a good technician, but a better person (to a much larger degree than existing schools).  Get married.  Buy a house.  Get a dog. 

I think the bigger question:  Why are we so afraid to fail?  Why not just do it?

The answer for me is all in the finances.  I keep putting it off until I have the money to do what I want.  It sucks.  I'm full of patience, but what am I doing in the meantime?  Am I really living, or just waiting for the life I want to magically fall in my lap?

All I know is that I feel most alive when I'm outside in nature and when I'm cuddling up with my man.  I guess I'll just follow that and try to get as much of it as possible while I wait for life to really begin.

Of course, who says that once I have those things that life will feel complete?  I'm sure it won't.  There's always more to want.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

  1. Money: icky, necessary, freeing and entrapping. Bah.Your comments reminded me of some advice I got years ago: Lots of people feel they need to wait until they are 'economically stable/settled' before going down the road of parenthood. Don't wait until then because you'll never really arrive at 'economically stable.'Of course you need to responsible with money to be able to provide but overall I think there's something to be said for that – we humans are a tough group to satisfy, always thinking we'll likely need more, as you pointed out.Thanks for reminding me of my own wants…

  2. Yeah, that's one those things that I know intellectually…but putting it into practice is something else entirely. I keep telling myself this is only temporary, but how long until temporary becomes permanent?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

