Voting Time!

I know it's been a while, but I like to wait until at least more than one of us have finished before we move on.  That said, it is now time to vote for the next book/movie!  As always, if you don't like the suggestions I put here (they're really more like idea starters) feel free to let me know what you *want* to read! ๐Ÿ™‚

Book Suggestions:

The Fall

Happy Death

The Children of Men

The Fall – Albert Camus
"Elegantly styled, Camus' profoundly disturbing novel of a Parisian
lawyer's confessions is a searing study of modern amorality."
Camus is one of the most famous existentialists…although he distanced himself from the movement at the time.

A Happy Death – Albert Camus
"As the novel follows the protagonist, Patrice Mersault, to his victim's
house — and then, fleeing, in a journey that takes him through stages
of exile, hedonism, privation, and death -it gives us a glimpse into
the imagination of one of the great writers of the twentieth century.
For here is the young Camus himself, in love with the sea and sun,
enraptured by women yet disdainful of romantic love, and already
formulating the philosophy of action and moral responsibility that
would make him central to the thought of our time."

The Children of Men – P.D. James
"Near the end of the 20th century, for reasons beyond the grasp of
modern science, human sperm count went to zero. The last birth occurred
in 1995, and in the space of a generation humanity has lost its future.
In England, under the rule of an increasingly despotic Warden, the
infirm are encouraged to commit group suicide, criminals are exiled and
abandoned and immigrants are subjected to semi-legalized slavery.
Divorced, middle-aged Oxford history professor Theo Faron, an
emotionally constrained man of means and intelligence who is the
Warden's cousin, plods through an ordered, bleak existence. But a
chance involvement with a group of dissidents moves him onto unexpected
paths, leading him, in the novel's compelling second half, toward risk,
commitment and the joys and anguish of love. In this convincingly
detailed world–where kittens are (illegally) christened, sex has lost
its allure and the arts have been abandoned–James concretely explores
an unthinkable prospect."

Movie Suggestions:

Children of Men
To go with the book, if we choose it.

Tsotsi
"Captivating audiences worldwide, this compelling story of crime and
redemption has earned countless awards around the globe. On the edges
of Johannesburg, Tsotsi's life has no meaning beyond survival. One
night, in desperation, Tsotsi steals a woman's car. But as he is
driving off, he makes a shocking discovery in the backseat. In one
moment his life takes a sharp turn and leads him down an unexpected
path to redemption … giving him hope for a future he never could have
imagined."

Magnolia
"An intriguing and entertaining study in characters going through
varying levels of crisis and introspection. This psychological drama
leads you in several different directions, weaving and intersecting
various subplots and characters, from a brilliant Tom Cruise, as a
self-proclaimed pied-piper, to a child forced to go on a TV game show
and the pressures he faces from a ruthless father."

Oh, and as an FYI, I haven't read or watched any of the above books/films other than the movie version of Children of Men.  ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy Voting!

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

  1. I'm not in the group but just wanted to say how much I enjoyed Magnolia. Saw it on TV then bought the DVD. You've just inspired me to watch it again some time soon. I don't believe I've seen it sober and I really ought to. Good choice!

  2. I know i didn't write anything much about the previous two (though i still have vague plans of writing up the (ahem) eight pages of notes i made in a compulsive double viewing i did when i had the movie a month or so ago…) but here's my vote -I like the sound of Happy Death and MagnoliaAnd just out of curiosity, what is the purpose of doing both the childeren of men movie and
    book at the same time would be? Are they significantly different in
    content?

    • a
    • October 13th, 2007

    Happy Death and Magnolia are my choices, too. (Looking forward to those 8 pages of notes subtle seem the stars!)

  3. A friend of mine is reading book, and she says it's way more intricate and the picture of human despair is even more potent in it. Plus someone suggested doing that last month. But whenever we get around to reading the book, we might just pick a different movie to go along with it and have that one be an "extra credit" movie. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. haha, well i might have to watch the movie again to work out what any of the notes actually meant ;)oh, and feel free to call me rich if you like – subtle seem the stars is kinda mouthful…And thanks for the clarification kristen, it sounds like a really interesting book, was torn between it an happy death..

    • a
    • October 15th, 2007

    I get on average over 200 hits at my blog a day not including blog feeds and readers. I have no idea who these people are because very few leave comments but most seem to be frequent readers and realize that's not a ton of people as far as blog hits go. But it's a fair amount. Would it be OK for me to sort of advertise Analogical Imagination there to see if we could recruit a few more people to join in on the discussions? I have no idea if it would actually bring more people in and if it did if they would actually join the discussion. But I thought maybe I could mention that we are in the process of voting and would love to have more people join us?I do get the occasional Spammer. But they are mostly few and far between.Let me know what you think. It's so nice to get alternate perspectives.

    • a
    • October 15th, 2007

    Thanks Rich. (Although I kind of like the feel of subtle seem the stars!)I think I know what you mean about having to watch it again to make sense of the notes! I've watched several of his short films, Elephant Man, Blue Velvet, and Wild at Heart. I still think Mulholland Dr. is the most difficult to figure out!

  5. Sure Laura, go ahead. I advertised on one of the boards that I hang out on, and because of that we now have Rich, which is sooo cool. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I was kind of glad about that too :)And Laura, feel free to call me whichever you like. i respond to pretty much anything (including, occassionally 'Oi You'). Mulholland Drive is the only Lynch film i've seen, so i'm gonna have to work backwards i think.

  7. I think watching Magnolia once a few years ago was enough for me. I'll toss in a vote for Tsotsi.For the book, I'm intrigued by both of the Camus titles, as I know almost nothing about any of his novels.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

