Suffer

Suffer

The Echoing Green

This song matches my mood.


With a moon half-empty

And a sky that's gone to waste

And the twilight offers cold embrace


The amber of autumn fades

And the greys of summer's mistakes

And the dreams we try to replicate…

They fall away


Isn't this world something wonderful

That we were made to suffer

Both it's honesty and cruelty?

Today


With a heart half-empty

And a light I've yet to see

And the sadness takes a hold of me


And fire-white burns like…

Agony.

Entropy.


We all fall apart

To the cadence of a bleeding heart

They fall away


Isn't this world something wonderful

That we were made to suffer

Both it's majesty and cruelty?

They fall away…


And is grace not something beautiful

That we were made to suffer?

The lucid touch of clemency.


And our tears become a sanctuary

We are made to suffer

With tenderness and empathy.


Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

    • Ben
    • November 28th, 2007

    See? I made a Vox. Hooray. Or something.Btw, thats a good song. I have yet to remind myself to illegally rip some of them from lime-wire.Also, I was thinking last night. You know what would be a super good idea? Let's start a church. A esoteric one. You and me.You thinking I'm kidding…I'm so not kidding. Lets do this. You'll still be my minion though 🙂

    • a
    • November 28th, 2007

    Great song! Although I think we were made for Joy, not to suffer. The suffering comes about because we rarely recognize Joy without suffering. It's a gift.

  1. Hmm, as Bambi's mother said, "Winter has come". *hugs*

  2. Exactly, that's why the world is something wonderful and grace is something beautiful. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

