Book/Movie Announcement: The Fountain and His Dark Materials

Here we go folks!

Movie:  The Fountain, Darren Aronofsky

Synopsis:
Yesterday, today, tomorrow. Past, present, future. Through time and
space, one man embarks on a bold 1000-year odyssey to defeat
humankind's most indomitable foe: Death. Hugh Jackman plays that man,
devoted to one woman (Rachel Weisz) and determined to protect her from
forces that threaten her existence. His quest leads him to a Tree of
Life…and to an adventure into eternity. Darren Aronofsky (Pi, Requiem
for a Dream
) directs, continuing his string of imaginative, involving
filmmaking with a tale alive with ideas and filled with astonishing
vistas. "Not many films can blow your mind and break your heart at the
same time, but this one will."

This film wasn't well received, but I think that's because it is difficult to understand.  And if it's difficult to understand, it might just be right up our alley. πŸ™‚

Extra Credit: The Orphanage, Guillermo Del Toro
It's still in theaters so it's not fair to make it the main movie, but GO SEE IT.  It's from the maker of Pan's Labyrinth, only it's *better.*  Yes, you heard me.  Go watch it and come back so we can discuss it!

Book: His Dark Materials Trilogy, Phillip Pullman

Synopsis:
From Amazon.com: These books are what the very best of Children's literature does. They
are entertaining and fanciful, yet they simultaneously challenge and
educate both the mind and heart. Like hot soup when you are sick, they
are "Good and Good for You."

"His
Dark Materials" are a great counter-point to the mindless fun of Harry
Potter and friends. Pullman's writing is educated and insightful, his
characters are real and multi-faceted. The series is packed with
adventure, ideas, beliefs, fantasy, talking armored bears, Texas
Balloonists, animals, gypsies, and just about everything else. The tone
of the series is serious, and as dark as the name implies.

"Chronicles
of Narnia;" "Prydain Chronicles;" "The Hobbit;" "Harry Potter;" "The
Time Quartet;" "Wind in the Willows;" and now…"His Dark Materials."
Philip Pullman, welcome to the club.

Controversy:

These books have caused quite the controversy, as they were written by an atheist, and the story is said to be very anti-religious.  Because of this, I think *everyone* should read them.  There's no use debating whether or not they are good or bad, or harmful or insightful if we don't know what we're talking about.  No matter where you fall theologically, these books are an exciting ride, and can lead to some pretty awesome discussion!

Note: Normally, we put it to a vote, but this round I have very little time, so I'm picking the book and movie selections based on what I'm already reading/watching.  I hope you guys don't mind, and I think they're decent enough choices that we can have some fun with them. πŸ™‚

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

  1. oooh – good choice on the books. I just read the series last spring and thought it was a fantastic story, and given my theology, I "should" find them controversial, but didn't. πŸ˜‰

  2. Wonderful! I can't wait to hear your opinion on the meat of them! πŸ™‚

    • a
    • January 10th, 2008

    Thanks for taking the initiative. I'm hell bent on Sartre and Camus at the moment and was going to try really hard not to buy any new books in 2008. But I've really been wanting to get a handle on what all the hubub is about His Dark Materials. (I LOVED The Compass.) It may be a bit before I get to it, but I'll definitely make the effort. As long as The Fountain is available on Netflix, I'll be sure to watch it (although I plan to Watch Who's Camus Anyway and the movie it was based on A Death in Venice one more time before I send them back – but I'll put The Fountain at the head of the queues.)Loved Pan's Labyrinth so will definitely make the effort to see The Orphanage. Thanks for the recommendation.

  3. Yeah, the HDM books are quick reads anyway. You could probably finish each one in a couple days, looking at how fast you read much harder material. :)It looks like I'm gonna be watching The Fountain on Friday, and I talked to a few people outside the club who are going to watch it too, so hopefully it will be more than just you and me this time. πŸ˜‰

    • a
    • January 16th, 2008

    OK! I ordered the triology. My excuse? My daughter wants to read them. We ordered her another book to get the free shipping and I had a 25% off coupon to Barnes – so how could I not??? (I am such an addict!!)I've got The Fountain at the head of my Netflix queue, but I have to remember to return Death in Venice (which I keep forgetting for some reason.)

  4. hehe, I always rope myself into buying more books. I'm not sure if it's a bad thing as of yet, though. πŸ˜‰

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

