Dexter

Holy crap.  I have never been more excited about two serial killers meeting face to face.  Okay, so I've never been excited at all about something like that, ever.  But the fact that I am now tells you just how freaking awesome this show is.

Dexter airs on Showtime, but the first season will be airing on CBS starting February 17th.  Or you can buy the DVDs.  I *highly* recommend it.

The premise:  Dexter Morgan (played by Michael C. Hall of Six Feet Under fame) is a expert blood spatter analyst for the Miami police department.  But he has a dark secret.  He's completely empty inside.  No emotions.  Something happened to him when he was very young, that he can't remember.  When he was adopted by his policeman foster-father, he recognized the emptiness right away.  Not wanting to see his son in an electric chair, he taught Dexter how to fit in, how to fake everything.  And above all, he helped Dexter channel his urges to kill people into something reasonably productive.  Dexter only kills people who deserve it, and his father taught him how to get away with it.  He's still effing sick and twisted and hollow, but he only takes the lives of those who would harm others.

Oh my god I love this show.

Dexter

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

  1. I've been really curious about this show for a long time, so now your recommendation means I'm finally going to have to check it out.

  2. you should cross post this to the dexter group!!! :)That way the showtime people will read it.

  3. There's a dexter group? Awesome! I'm hesitant though, I'm only 8 episodes in, and I don't want any spoilers! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. You'll love it. There's all sorts of interesting conversations you can have based off it. Let me know when you get around to seeing it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Dexter is an absolutely brilliant show! Season two was nail-bitingly intense.

  6. I'm just starting to watch season 2. Two episodes in. I can't wait to watch the rest of them! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Bulk up on heart medicine and tape your fingernails. Can't wait to get my hands on season three.

  8. Damn it, you just got me addicted to this show. Disc 2 is in the mail…

  9. It's awesome, isn't it? :)I can't wait for you to finish the first season. Oh god it's amazing. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. That was quite the finale, much better than most shows that don't pay off anything. I'm not sure I quite buy Dexter's psychology ("I witnessed a death at an early age, so I have no choice but to be a serial killer!"), but it's a conceit I'm willing to accept while I'm watching it.Didn't realize that Deb also played the title character in The Exorcism of Emily Rose until I looked through the bios. She's a better actor than I gave her credit for.

  11. Well I think that's part of the question that may or may not be explored later. Was it just Dexter's childhood memories that made him go serial killer? Or did Harry's training help turn him into it?But man, my heart *broke* for him having to do what he did.And yeah Deb is pretty awesome. I can't really imagine her character on network television without the swearing…we'll have to see how they do it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

