City By the Bay

Spent the day in San Francisco yesterday, and it was quite awesome.  We were going to try to go to the newly reopened California Academy of Sciences, but the lines were horrendous and there was no parking, so we decided to forsake that option.

Instead we drove to that really cool little ocean/beach area near the Cliff House.  We explored the caves with the waves crashing underneath and the ruins of armaments or whatever they were.  It was very fun.  Funny enough, that was probably the highlight of my day.  It's always the free things that end up being the most fun. 

Then we headed over to City Lights Bookstore in North Beach, browsed the religion section together, and found many cool books.  For the first time in a *very* long time, I walked out of the bookstore without having bought anything!  Score one for me!

Oh, before the bookstore, we happened to walk by a candy store that sold (AND LET US SAMPLE) two miraculous things: salt water taffy, and FUDGE.  I was conned into buying 25 bucks worth of fudge.  But it is amazing fudge, so I don't mind.  I got Rocky Road, Smores, Chocolate Amaretto, Raspberry Chocolate, Maple Walnut, and Cookies and Cream.  Sooooooo yummy!

Then after the bookstore we went next door to Vesuvio.  We had a beer, I got a Hefeweisen, but I didn't really like it.  I don't really like beer in general.  Oh well.  But the atmosphere was very nice, and we got the best seat in the house.  Upstairs and by the window in a little corner.

After that we went and had dinner at a Mediterranean place, which was good.  And then we went to The Independent to see Margot and the Nuclear So and So's.

I gotta say, I love this band, and I love their first album (haven't listened to the others yet), but I was disappointed in the live show.  Here's why:

  • Song Selection – They only played like 4 songs from their older CD.  This means I only knew 4 of the songs they played.  That was sad. 
  • Changing the way the popular songs sound – Skeleton Key was completely changed.  While I appreciate changing it up so that the live version doesn't sound the same as the recorded one, I would like to be able to sing along.  Especially if it's one of the only songs I actually know.
  • Vocal quality – The lead singer sounds a lot better on the album than he does live.  And sometimes the backup singer (the chick) was so loud she overpowered his vocals.

Also, I would have liked it better had it been at a place like Bimbo's where everyone was sitting at tables having a drink.  Oh well.

All in all though, it was a good day.  And today I am exhausted and drowsy and grumpy from lack of sleep.  Hooray.  Oh, and I'm kinda sick.  Woohoo!

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

  1. I remember visiting City Lights 5 years ago, and it was really incredible – Lawrence Ferlinghetti and Allan Ginsberg were doing a reading and i managed to catch the last ten minutes! I think i felt the luckiest i have ever felt when i wondered in just to see what the crowd was there for!Such a great bookshop.

  2. Sounded like a kick-ass day. mmmmmmm, taaaaaaaaaafffffffyyyy

  3. really jealous.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

