Photography

I’m looking to get into photography. I’ve gone back and forth over what exactly I want to get. First I was leaning toward Sony just because I know lots of other people who have Sony and that makes lens-swapping easier. But, everyone I talk to says stick with Canon or Nikon. So I thought I would go Canon.

Latest piece of information, my dad has an old Minolta camera and about three lenses. If I buy a $60 mount adaptor, all of his old lenses would work on my (possible) new Sony dSLR.

The Pros:
Save a shit-ton of money.

The Cons:
1. Autofocus (AF) is not available;
2. Stop-down metering is used. Spot metering mode does not work properly.
3. Although it is possible to use the A (aperture-priority AE) mode in auto exposure, the aperture display is not available.
4. In the P (Program AE), or S (Shutter speed-priority AE) mode, the shutter releases, but the auto exposure control does not work.
5. The distance scale on the Minolta MD/MC lenses may not indicate the actual distance. Always use the viewfinder for focusing.
6. Since the Sony Alpha and Konica Minolta DSLR cannot recognize the MD/MC lenses, please unlock the shutter after mounting the MD/MC lens on the Alpha system.

I’m not sure what to do at this point. I love Canon and the lenses are supposedly easier to get a hold of and much better quality. I’ve always leaned this direction. But now, with these two big things pushing me towards Sony…I’m not sure what to do.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

