Frederick Buechner

I happened randomly on this author today through a Jesuit blog. I saw a quote of his on the sidebar and had to investigate. I read through more of his quotes and I quite like them. I love it when someone sees the personal significance behind what we claim to believe, and when someone finds beauty without dismissing the bad things in life.

“Many an atheist is a believer without knowing it just as many a believer is an atheist without knowing it. You can sincerely believe there is no God and live as though there is. You can sincerely believe there is a God and live as though there isn’t.”

and

“Listen to your life. See it for the fathomless mystery it is. In the boredom and pain of it no less than in the excitement and gladness: touch, taste, smell your way to the holy and hidden heart of it because in the last analysis all moments are key moments, and life itself is grace.”

And then, after reading all these quotes, I found one by someone I greatly respect.

Annie Dillard (Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Pilgrim at Tinker Creek) says: “Frederick Buechner is one of our finest writers.”

Looks like I may have to read some of his books.

  1. What an excellent blog. And I’m here ’cause I’m also a fool for quotes – And these are special.

    I also wanted to provide you with a link to an article I just recently posted (don’t know whether you’ld put this under Philosophy or Religion)

    It’s a somewhat sympathetic response to Anselm’s argument for the existence of god. But it does get right to the point, and I believe it will be truely instructive to wavering deists in particular.

    http://modernatheist.org/2010/06/06/an-ontological-basis-for-the-denial-of-god/

    Hope you like it.

    Sincerely, D R Hosie – Modern Atheist.org

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

